“Is today a holiday?”

My nanny asked me this when she arrived this morning after seeing our flag hanging proudly off the garage.

“Yep. It’s Flag Day.” I responded, like a big fat know-it-all. However, I only knew this because I saw my neighbor had his flag up, and being older and wiser than I am, I figured there was a good reason for it. After a quick search online I discovered that today was, in fact, Flag Day.

And then I realized that I had no fucking idea what Flag Day is, or why it’s even a holiday. And more importantly, why don’t I have the day off???

Flag Day is simply a day where we Americans celebrate our Freedom Fries and commemorates the adoption of the flag of the United States, which happened on June 14, 1777 by resolution of the Second Continental Congress. In 1916, Woodrow Wilson issued a proclamation that officially established June 14 as Flag Day; and in August 1949, National Flag Day was established, although it is not an official federal holiday. Which is why we don’t get to sleep in today.

Since I’m up, I thought I’d share some semi-interesting fun flag facts, courtesy of the National Flag Day Foundation (our tax dollars hard at work?) and the Sacramento Bee.

• Betsy Ross had three husbands. Slut.

• She was credited with sewing the nation’s first flag, while apprenticed not as a seamstress but as an upholsterer, learning to make and repair curtains, bed covers, tablecloths, rugs, umbrellas and Venetian blinds.

• “The Star-Spangled Banner” is based on a 15-star, 15-stripe flag sewn by Mary Pickersgill. Vermont and Kentucky had recently been added to the original 13 states. I don’t know how many times she was married, or if she was even married at all.

• The U.S. flag has been modified 26 times since its adoption in 1777. Today’s 50-star flag, created in 1960, has been in use the longest.

So there you have it. Now you know. Enjoy the day. It’s a nice prelude to another upcoming, better-known holiday coming up soon. We’ll get to let our flags fly high again, wear our Captain America shirts, blow shit up, scarf some more Freedom Fries and watch Will Smith movies in a few weeks for Independence Day. We can even sleep in a bit if our toddlers let us.

But for now, pass this along to your friends, re-post/tweet this incredibly useful information and educate the masses, and wish them all a happy Flag Day! Then get back to work.

About Thomas Kelleher

Ad Man | Author : www.tomkelleher.com
This entry was posted in Odds & Sods and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

